12 – 14 SUBAT 2011
Sound Migration – Japan Tour

Japan-Turkey Contemporary Music Collaboration Sound Migration

Japan-Turkey Contemporary Music Collaboration Sound Migration


Japon The Web da Capo dergisinde Sound Migration yazısı / The Web da Capo magazine article in Japanese

Saadet Türköz : vokal / vocal
Kazuki Kunihiro : vokal, visit web gitar, sanitary perküsyon / vocal, help guitar, percussion
Jun Kawasaki : kontrbas / contrabass
Şevket Akıncı : gitar / guitar
Micari : dans / dancer

Cumartesi 12 Şubat @ 19:30
@ Spiral Hall, Tokyo

Pazartesi 14 Şubat @ 19:30
@ Kanagawa Prefectural Salonu, Küçük Salon, Yokohama

Saturday 12th of February @ 19:30
@ Spiral Hall, Tokyo

Monday 14th of February @ 19:30
@ Kanagawa Prefectural Hall, Small Hall, Yokohama

Japon besteci Kazuki Kunihiro; Kazak Türklerinden vokalist Saadet Türköz; Japon kontrbasçı Jun Kawasaki; Türkiyeli gitar doğaçlamacısı Şevket Akıncı; ve Japon oyuncu ve performans sanatçısı Micari Sound Migrations (Ses Göçleri) adındaki çağdaş müzik projesinde bir araya geliyor. Japonya Vakfı’nın önerisi üzerine gerçekleştirilen proje, apayrı kültürel ve müzikal arkaplanlardan gelen bu beş sanatçıyı birleştirerek, fakat aynı zamanda heterojenliklerini koruyarak, oldukça yoğun ve özgün bir ses performansı ortaya koyuyor.

The Japan Foundation will be conducting a project called “Sound Migration” which is a contemporary music collaboration between Japan and Turkey. Four musicians and an actress will be working together in Istanbul, Turkey, in September, to create new pieces, and since the beginning of October 2010, they’ve performed in Izmir (Turkey), Cairo (Egypt), and Budapest (Hungary) as well as Istanbul. The performance in Istanbul was held as the opening of the ‘Istanbul International Contemporary Dance & Performance Festival (iDANS)’. Furthermore, the performances in Istanbul and Izmir has been part of the ‘Japan Year 2010 in Turkey’.

From the two countries will be: Kazuki Kunihiro, a Japanese composer; Saadet Türköz, a Kazakh Turkish vocalist; Jun Kawasaki, a Japanese contrabassist; Şevket Akinci, a Turkish improvisational guitarist; and Micari, a Japanese actress. These five persons, all soloists in their own right, provide an extremely intense sound as well physical movement and they use this intensity to construct a world that is something quite unique, which is the reason for their being selected.

Türköz’s keen individuality, a blend of Central Asian narrative tradition and jazz improvisation, cannot be without influence from the fact that her parents had fled East Turkistan as refugees and made their way to Turkey over the course of more than ten years. Kawasaki and Akinci, utilizing the high level improvisation techniques, will explore the connection between ‘self’ and ‘other’, which will not likely be something reducible in meaning to national differences. Micari, through her unique expressiveness, which rouses the imagination of the audience, will undoubtedly liberate the body movement from its subordination to the music. The creative process of these five individuals from completely differing backgrounds is expected to produce a harmony as well as a deliberately persisting sense of heterogeneity. Standing at the center of this subtle balance and giving it a sense of wholeness is Kunihiro who displays a sure-footed compositional ability in his international theatrical collaborations. It is this harmony together with the diversity of elements that generates the power to create a new music and makes this project something to believe in.

The five performers together with these scenes will be allowed to freely ‘migrate’ through the joint creative process, recurring in altered forms and, in due course, bringing forth an evocative world of sound. It will be an original act of creation that cuts off a slice of ‘now,’ the present moment, where the migration of peoples is occurring on a global scale.

Comments are closed.


* Şevket Akıncı'nın katıldığı
programını her pazar günü 17:00-18:00 arası Açık Radyo'da dinleyebilirsiniz.
AÇIK RADYO 94.9(İstanbul)
(Açık Radyo, web üzerinden de yayın yapmaktadır. www.acikradyo.com.tr)
* Şevket Akıncı - Myspace sitesine göz atmayi unutmayin! ;)